So the week has been going well. Working with sunny and the bees isn’t “stinging” as bad as it was when I started (sorry for the pun haha). Been able to really key in my diet here with a good amount of food and protein in the morning, all veggie lunch, and a fruit and yogurt and pollen shake in the afternoon before running/lifting/training or all 3. And yes that’s right, I said I put pollen in my shakes. Pollen is a good source of protein and potassium which helps heaps when you play a sport that requires you to run non-stop. I can feel myself getting healthier and stronger, and on the field my kicking is getting really honed in. I am still struggling in the game oriented drills. I feel like I knew what I was doing a lot more when I played with the Chicago squad, but now I constantly find myself lost and scrambling to figure out where to go. As long as I man up I will at least cover my responsibility, but I will never really be an asset unless I can have the vision and confidence that comes from experience. It is frustrating trying to learn a game everyone else has just grown up with and watched their whole lives. They get it and know how to work it to their advantage, while I am still trying to understand it. I am not a man of patience, so once again I am learning to take things in little pieces and digest them one at a time. First it’s the skills, then the fitness, then the vision.

Yesterday I made a trip down to the Subiaco oval yesterday with my coach Christian Kelly to see the field and stadium the West Coast Eagles and the Fremantle Dockers play on. Holds about 15,000 people and is the biggest stadium in Perth. I told my coach that we have a stadium in Columbus, Ohio that holds 100,000 people and is just for college ball, and that blew his mind a little haha. Either was got to see the Dockers change rooms and actually touch the field. I had thought I was going to get to meet some of the players or the coach, but I guess they are tight on security when it comes to visitors. Either way I’m really excited to see a game there once the season starts, and hopefully I can see one sitting next to Brendan Fewster as he tells me why everyone is doing what they are doing so I can learn more. I’m real keen to take in as much about this sport as I can, and come hell or high water I will not quit at trying to be the best footballer I can be while I am here.

I have a pretty busy weekend ahead of me with work at the Honey Shed and at the Cafe, so hopefully I can find time to train a little and get a few runs in. One of my team mates is having a party at the footy oval in GinGin Saturday night so I am looking forward to hanging with all the guys and relaxing a little, but knowing I have to work at 8:30am Saturday morning and Sunday morning is going to make me quit early and attempt to be a responsible worker. Haha.

Here is a picture of me and Critter on the Subico Oval grounds. Pretty cool experience.

-Jason

20120315-214033.jpg